BCYF is the parent company of its subsidiary BAYSA, a registered housing provider that provides a range of accommodation and community support programs. The Board oversees the delivery of these programs and monitors BAYSA’s performance at two or more formal Board meetings per year.

Our board members

John Bemelmans

Chair of the BAYSA Board

View profile

John Bemelmans Dip Frontline Mgt, OH&S and Vocational Education & Training

Chair of the BAYSA Board

John is a retired policeman, having served 42 years with Victoria Police, almost all of which was in the Geelong area. He finished his career at the rank of Senior Sergeant, with responsibilities for training and supervision. John served in a number of different areas in his time with Victoria Police, including D.24, Prosecutions Division and child and sexual abuse investigation with Community Policing Squad.

John was a long-time Board Member of one of BCYF’s founding agencies, Time for Youth.   He has a strong interest in advancing the opportunities of disadvantaged young people, which arose while policing and coming into contact with young peopel who could not find a safe place to live.   He also has a strong interest in the prevention of family violence.

Jenny Acopian

View profile

Jenny Acopian BSc, DipEd, MA

Jenny has worked in education for more than 40 years, both in Australia and overseas, as a teacher, university administrator and consultant to the higher education sector.

She is a published author and served on the reference group that guided publication of the history of BCYF and its predecessor organisations.

Jenny is a committed Rotarian and enjoys her community involvement.

Dr Lloyd Owen

View profile

Dr Lloyd Owen PhD, MSoc Wk, BA Dip Soc Studs, Grad Dip Human Services Research

Lloyd has vast experience working in senior management and chief executive roles in reception and youth training centres, youth welfare division management and adult correctional services. He has also worked with La Trobe University as a social work teacher, staff and student supervisor, researcher and consultant.

Lloyd completed a PhD on finding good practice and optimal services for young people with complex needs in 2007. He has also had considerable involvement in the wellbeing of young people and social welfare, including through various voluntary roles.

He has undertaken a series of honorary roles in the not-for-profit sector. Lloyd currently holds an appointment as an Honorary Fellow at Deakin University.

Kathryn Hutson

View profile

Kathryn Hutson BA Economics, Masters Bus. Admin.

Kathryn is a Certified Practicing Accountant and Financial Controller at Abaris Printing, with a Bachelor of Economics and Masters of Business Administration.

She has held senior finance roles in a broad range of companies over her 30-year career, including four years as the Senior Accountant for the Ministry of Finance for the Cook Islands government, working for Ausaid to mentor Cook Island finance officers.

Upon her return to Geelong in 2007, she joined the Board of Time for Youth and has served continuously since then as a Board member with Time for Youth and then BAYSA.

Daniela Pavlovic

View profile

Daniela Pavlovic LLB, B(Com)

Daniela is a Special Counsel for Harwood Andrews’ Wills and Estates law practice area. Daniela has been practising law for 13 years, having completed a law and commerce degree at Deakin University.

Her interest in corporate governance has resulted in Daniela having been a director on the board of Barwon Health, the largest regional health service in Victoria, as well as Barwon Youth, a not-for-profit agency that provided specialist youth services to disadvantaged young people in the Geelong region. Daniela has completed the AICD Director’s course and examination.